5 Ways to Win My Heart

Challenge #1

 

What wins my heart? I don’t think I’ve ever really spent much time thinking about this. There are so many things in the world I can think of that have the ability to catch my attention in a split second. But now that I think about it, I don’t really feel like I’m a very good decision-maker, or a person who makes good choices.. Seems a little deep for a topic so simple, right? Oh well. It’s how I think. Welcome to the deep trenches of my mind.

Sitting here trying to think about what 5 things can win my heart, I come to a stop as I realize how vague this topic actually is. 5 things? What kinds of things? And what is the game to be played, to win my heart? 5 things could be 5 food, 5 pets, 5 brand names. 5 things a friend can do to win my heart? 5 things that a guy can do to win my love? I think I’m just going to go with what a guy can do. It seems pretty fitting, at least for this topic. So here goes! Just a precaution though, I’m already taken. Happily taken. 🙂 Riding along with this list just in case in the future trouble sets paradise on fire. Ha!

 

1. Music

I’ve always been a huge fan of music, and aside from writing, music has been my most preferred way of expressing myself. I remember when I was a little girl, we had an uncle (dad’s friend, not literal uncle) named Tito Boots. He once said to me “If you want to find a guy with a pure heart, find a musician. A guy who lives music is a guy who knows what real love is, and what it should be like.” Ever since then, my love for music has only grown, and also the longing for that special musician.

"Drop in the Ocean" - Ron Pope

“Drop in the Ocean” – Ron Pope

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Witty sense of humor

I don’t like boring people. Humor and music are almost at a tie when it comes to being 1st in ways of winning me over but not all musicians are funny. So music wins. But sense of humor to me is just as important, maybe at a .01 rank lower down the scale. There are so many problems circulating our everyday lives and sometimes all anyone needs is a good laugh. One of the reasons why everybody loves Mr. Bean. 🙂 A guy who can make me laugh out loud with a single joke or even a one-liner, has a better chance of winning me over against a guy who can make me smile. I’d choose laugh over smile every time.

MY ONE TRUE LOVE

MY ONE TRUE LOVE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Kid-at-heart

There is a BIG difference between immaturity and being a kid-at-heart. An immature person is someone who has no grasp on responsibility whatsoever, and therefore does not usually have a clue on what love is. A kid-at-heart on the other hand, is a person who may be entirely responsible and at the same time knows what it means to still have fun and have a colorful imagination. I will forever be a Disney Princess, no matter what anti-Disney blogs say about the bad influence Disney gives to kids. Rainy days and Mondays always make me reminisce the times when I clung to my doll as a little girl while watching Snow White, or with my legs inside a pillowcase pretending to be a mermaid while watching Ariel sacrificing her voice to be with Prince Eric up on land. I don’t know many guys who appreciate what these kinds of memories give to full grown adults like me, but if I do find one, I only have one thing to say, “Can I keep you forever?”

Someday, I wish.

Someday, I wish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Kid lover

(No pedophiles please. Seriously. There is no place in this world for assholes like you. Anyway.) It always melts my heart when I see a picture of a guy carrying his newborn baby. Those little munchkins are the cutest little things in the universe, who doesn’t love babies anyway? A guy who can keep his cool completely in the middle of a play pen full of children is definitely a guy worth marrying. Even better if he could be playing with all the kids in that play pen.

THIS IS SO DARN CUTE. I've always loved this father-son duo.

THIS IS SO DARN CUTE. I’ve always loved this father-son duo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. English

Okay, this one I have to explain thoroughly. Being a Filipino, naturally I would marry someone who is also a Filipino. NATURALLY. I didn’t say normally so please calm yo tits. Normally it is anyone and everyone’s right to marry whoever they choose to marry, irregardless of race, color, nationality, whatever. In my case, it’s not easy having been raised in a different country than where the mother land is. I grew up in a country where foreigners kept to themselves because of course that’s what foreigners usually do. That didn’t make sense, sorry. Let me explain further. I went to an International school for 1st-6th grade elementary education in Yanbu, Saudi Arabia. My classmates were Americans, Indians, Pakistanis, other Asians, Australians, Europeans, Africans. And the only way we would all understand each other is to of course learn English. So for all those years, not intentionally but I learned to speak English as a second language. Sometimes I even spoke English more than Tagalog. So when I came home to the Philippines to further continue my studies, it was a major frustration when I couldn’t speak my usual English to interact with my new teachers and classmates. No offense to my former teachers or anything, but I’m just trying to be honest here. I haven’t had a teacher since I started studying here in the Philippines who I could speak to in English the way I spoke to my teachers back in Yanbu. Except for one, Ms. Kate in my Senior year, she grew up speaking English as well so it was always fun talking to her. But yeah, I know there are people here who can speak the way I do but none where I live or even close to the area. So I’ve never really met anyone who I can speak to without having to explain my point in Tagalog. I miss being able to crack a joke to someone besides my sister, who also grew up speaking English, who immediately understands the punchline. I guess it’s no accident that I love Hollywood movies more than local movies because it makes me feel like I’m in the conversation with them, even if I’m just watching them on the screen. I’ve never liked those romantic pocketbooks that my mom used to read, those with images of a man and woman doing some sort of shirtless hug drawn on the cover. Seeing statuses on Facebook with wrong spelling & grammar make me want to rip my own eyes out. Am I to blame? No, Saudi is. Kidding! Just kidding Saudi, love you. So yeah. If I can find a guy who can understand my slang, and even better, actually respond to me in the same way, he can have my whole heart. My heart, my soul, my whole self! I’ll even give him the last slice of pizza in the box, or the last spoonful of ice cream in my bowl. But if I can’t find a guy like that, no biggie. Pinay parin naman talaga ako, no choice. Haha

tumblr_mlvlj3GfHS1qdk4doo2_250

 

 

 

 

 

tumblr_mlvlj3GfHS1qdk4doo1_r1_250

 

 

 

 

 

 

tumblr_mlvlj3GfHS1qdk4doo3_250

 

 

 

 

 

tumblr_mlvlj3GfHS1qdk4doo4_r1_250

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay these gifs have nothing to do with point #5 but Eric Matthews is just so adorable, I love him so much. Anywayy.

 

Other things I’d like to see in a future potential “forever” boyfie, if ever:

  • Good in arts
  • Good at dancing
  • SPORTS – Would be good for the future kiddos
  • Street wise – Yes, street wise.
  • Doesn’t mind shopping for 12hrs straight
  • Bar hopping tonight, movie marathon + cuddling tomorrow night
  • Mysterious

So there you go! 5 ways to win my heart. Or rather, 5 qualities to have that will win my heart. My current boyfriend may not have all those qualities in him but he is a great guy and he knows what makes me happy. So I love him. 🙂 Kbye.

Leave a Reply

