Little Girl in the Big Woods

Challenge #3 – A book I love

 

I was in 2nd grade when I first read a book by Laura Ingalls Wilder. It was the Little Girl in the Big Woods, the first book of the series that she wrote about her life from when she was a little girl. I couldn’t put it down, I refused to eat my meals unless I finished the chapter I was on.

Being a little girl myself at the time, I loved reading about the everyday life and adventures of Laura and her sister Mary. What fascinated me was the way her story was told, how every scene described brought you to that place where she was as if you were watching her grow in front of your very eyes. It was fun to read about collecting wood chips and making molasses candy in the winter, so different from the life I was accustomed to. Reading about Laura’s life made me feel like I was there with her, a silent friend in the background, observer of the life she lived since she was a little girl. She made me want to experience life the way she did, living in the woods and harvesting fruits from the trees and making goat cheese, collecting wood chips, helping Ma & Pa skin the animals that are to be stocked up for the long winter. To me, the book was an escape from the modern world.

It’s been about 16 years since I first read the book and I still love it. Although the series itself may not be recognized in every country on this planet unlike Harry Potter or Twilight or The Hunger Games, but it teaches the value of family and love and life nonetheless, through the eyes of an innocent little girl. It’s one of those books that I wouldn’t mind still having on my shelf years after I’ve purchased it from the bookstore or some online shop, a cuddle buddy on rainy days when it’s more preferable stay in and just keep warm. Someday when I have my own daughter, I will tuck her into bed and read to her about a Little Girl in the Big Woods. 🙂

I want to have a poster of this in my future little girl's bedroom. :)

I want to have a poster of this in my future little girl’s bedroom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

